View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:50 PM
jay2005 jay2005 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Default Detect ip from email

I know this is a long shot but here it goes, I am tring to sell a car for my dad on a carsales website and got a very suspicious email and was wondering if I could track it back to who sent it. It is a yahoo.com address and from the message details I get. Received: from n8a.bullet.mail.re3.yahoo.com (n8a.bullet.mail.re3.yahoo.com [68.142.236.46]). I am presuming that is the yahoo server not the person who sent it. Is there any way i can get the ip from the person who sent it. I contacted the company where I am trying to sell the car and here is the response.

"Many thanks for your mail and yes we do warn users posting ads to the site (once after submitting and again in the email with the access code) We also identify and ban international buyers IPs addresses from the enquirys but unfortunately a small % still get through.
Thanks for been vigilant."
Best regards,
Mick

I can accept that answer but i would like to be able to track that person and maybe prevent someone from getting "screwed"

here is the email they sent me

Jay,

Thanks for the e-mail.Since you said the price is 3000 euro a Certified cheque or International Money Order will be prepare and issue out to you,You will receive a cheque of 8000 euro and as soon as you receive the cheque you will deduct yours and the rest shall be for the shipment of the item.if you are alright with this arrangement reply and let me have the following information to where the Certified cheque will be
send to like these;

Name.......
Full address(not p.o box).........
City.........
State.......
Zipcode........
country.......
Phone No.......,

Pls the arrangement of funds shall be transfer via the western union and the amount is 5000 euro will be send to the shipper by you via WESTERN UNION outlet in your location,if you get this right do reply.

Cheers,

Tee.




Sorry for the long post but any help or info I can even send on to cardealership website to prevent this would be great.
Reply With Quote