Remote Exploit Forums

Go Back   Remote Exploit Forums > Archives > BackTrack v2.0 Final


BackTrack v2.0 Final Released 6th of March 2007 Please do not make posts related to BackTrack 2 Beta here!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Default Detect ip from email

I know this is a long shot but here it goes, I am tring to sell a car for my dad on a carsales website and got a very suspicious email and was wondering if I could track it back to who sent it. It is a yahoo.com address and from the message details I get. Received: from n8a.bullet.mail.re3.yahoo.com (n8a.bullet.mail.re3.yahoo.com [68.142.236.46]). I am presuming that is the yahoo server not the person who sent it. Is there any way i can get the ip from the person who sent it. I contacted the company where I am trying to sell the car and here is the response.

"Many thanks for your mail and yes we do warn users posting ads to the site (once after submitting and again in the email with the access code) We also identify and ban international buyers IPs addresses from the enquirys but unfortunately a small % still get through.
Thanks for been vigilant."
Best regards,
Mick

I can accept that answer but i would like to be able to track that person and maybe prevent someone from getting "screwed"

here is the email they sent me

Jay,

Thanks for the e-mail.Since you said the price is 3000 euro a Certified cheque or International Money Order will be prepare and issue out to you,You will receive a cheque of 8000 euro and as soon as you receive the cheque you will deduct yours and the rest shall be for the shipment of the item.if you are alright with this arrangement reply and let me have the following information to where the Certified cheque will be
send to like these;

Name.......
Full address(not p.o box).........
City.........
State.......
Zipcode........
country.......
Phone No.......,

Pls the arrangement of funds shall be transfer via the western union and the amount is 5000 euro will be send to the shipper by you via WESTERN UNION outlet in your location,if you get this right do reply.

Cheers,

Tee.




Sorry for the long post but any help or info I can even send on to cardealership website to prevent this would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Default

Without a doubt, this is a very well known scam attempt. Just delete the mail and go on with your life
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2007, 01:24 PM
theprez98's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,530
Default

Scam! Don't do it.
__________________
theprez98
"I want peace on earth and goodwill toward men."
"We are the United States Government. We don't do that sort of thing!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2007, 02:46 PM
shamanvirtuel's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In The EX-"Human Rights Country", the land of cheese and wine.....
Posts: 2,969
Default

SCAM BE CAREFUL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DON'T REPLY
SCAM BE CAREFUL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DON'T REPLY
SCAM BE CAREFUL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DON'T REPLY
SCAM BE CAREFUL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DON'T REPLY
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2007, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Default just for fun

if you really want to waste some time:
take somewhere some free space,upload a few pics with your car,embed this:
Quote:
$host</body></html>";
if(mail($email,$sujet,$message,"Content-Type: text/html")){
echo "Ownneeed";}
else { echo "Shit ?";}
?>
******************************
<?php
$fl = fopen('iplog.txt', 'a');
fwrite($fl, "$ip . $host . $date \n\n");
fclose($fl);
$ip = $REMOTE_ADDR;
$host = gethostbyaddr($ip);
$date = date("d/m/Y H:i:s");
?>
<script type="javascript">
window.location="<anywhere you want>";
</script>


create iplog.txt,chmode it 777,send him the link to see the pics,his ip will be emailed to you(change your@email.com with your adress)
maybe useless,those guys use aol,cs and stuff...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2